Prudent Energy Handball League begins Friday

By Adelabu Jumoke

The Handball Federation of Nigeria (HFN) has confirmed that the first phase of the Prudent Energy Premier League will hold from April 27 to May 6 in Abuja.The President of the Federation, Samuel Ocheho disclosed that 12 teams in the male category and 10 teams in the female category will take part in the league.

Ocheho explained that the winner would go home with the sum of N1 million, the second placed team will get N750, 000 while the third place winner will pocket N500, 000 in both the male and female categories.He said there was a subsidy of N250,000 in each phase with branded jerseys for all the participating teams, adding that the male teams confirmed for the Premier League are Lagos Seasiders, COAS Shooters, Safety Shooters, De Defenders, Prison Key Boys, Niger United, Owena Kings, Kada Stars, Borno Spiders, Vipers of Plateau, Kano Pyramid and Sokoto Rima.

The female Teams are Lagos Seasiders, Defenders Babes, Safety Babes, Edo Dynamos, Owena Queens, Imo Grasshoppers, Abia Valiants, Desert Queens of Katsina, Kada Queen and Peacocks of Plateau.